About London: Cafe Philies (Kensington)

We were walking towards Holland Park when we came across Cafe Philies. A charming little cafe with sidwalk tables, we thought it would be a perfect place to stop for lunch with Eliza in tow.

We grabbed the last al fresco table out in the sunlight and parked our asses there. It was 1130am but they were opened for lunch already. According to the charming restaurant manager, they never say no at that place.

I don’t have the name from the menu but this was a salad of goat cheese, apple bits and parma ham. YUM.

*

I had the Penne with Pancetta – Leek and Mushrooms –  Scattered Pine Nuts. as with most things throughout our trip, we didn’t know half the things on the menu. Like what’s Pancetta? we also didn’t have available wi-fi so we didn’t google the names immediately. Going with my gut, I ordered this and was pleasantly surprised. This was a beautiful dish of pasta lightly covered with cream. It sat nicely between the heavy carbonara type dishes and the queasy aglio olio type oil pastas. I LOVE IT.

*

Bryan ordered the gnocci which I was eying as well. They panfried it with sundried tomatoes so it had a lovely burnt underside to each delightful morsel. Oh gosh I’m getting hungry just thinking of this meal again.

MUST GO BACK!

Website

4 comments

  1. Panchetta is the most beautiful thing on the planet. I could eat it at every meal…

    1. I bought pancetta and I’m going to try making this dish tomorrow. Wish me luck!

  2. […] first encounter with pancetta pasata was at Cafe Philies in London. It was such a lovely dish that I wanted to try it on my own. From the many recipes online, it was […]

  3. […] first encounter with pancetta pasata was at Cafe Philies in London. It was such a lovely dish that I wanted to try it on my own. From the many recipes online, it was […]

Leave a Reply

