Striped Cupcakes

I’ve been wanting a Kitchen Aid for some time now. They are simply so pretty but ridiculously expensive. So when Groupon had an offer, I jumped at it. It was a marvelous Raspberry Ice colour. Not the deep red I was hankering for but at 40% the usual price, it works just as well!
The set-up was simple and I tried to read the 400 page manual with 7 languages but I hate reading manuals so it took me awhile to figure the knobs. It also comes with 3 kinds of whisks, one for regular mixing, one for whipping and one for dough kneading.
20120722-160800.jpg
This weekend, I decided to try zebra striped cupcakes after coming across it on Love from the Oven.
Ingredients
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

20120722-160811.jpg

Instructions
Preheat the oven to 180C.
Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

Combine the flour and baking powder in a medium bowl.
Combine the eggs and sugar in a large mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer on high speed until thick and pale, about 5 minutes.
With the mixer on low speed, stir in the milk, butter, oil and vanilla, scraping down the sides of the bowl.
Stir in the flour mixture
Transfer half of the batter into another bowl and whisk in the cocoa powder.

To make the zebra stripes, you have to alternate the cake colours 1 tablespoon at a time. Start with 1 tablespoons of the vanilla batter into the centre of the cupcake liner and let it stand for a few seconds so it spreads out slightly. Place 1 teaspoon of the chocolate batter right on top of the vanilla and wait until it spreads. Continue alternating vanilla and chocolate until the cupcakes are about 3/4 full.
Bake until the cake is set and a toothpick comes out clean, about 20 minutes.
Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.

I had leftover cocoa batter so I made cocoa cupcakes in a jar instead. I found some leftover ice cream tubs that I couldn’t bear to throw away so I filled the jars with cupcakes and layers of vanilla frosting.

20120722-160820.jpg

20120722-160831.jpg 20120722-160841.jpg

20120722-160851.jpg 20120722-160902.jpg

At the rate I’m going, I should name these posts “Tastes better than it looks”. I really need to get my hands on a recipe that doesn’t deliver melted vanilla frosting. The humidity of this weather destroys all my icing into a puddle of white poop.

3 comments

  1. Wow, this looked amazing! I love it! =D

    1. Thank you for reading burburchan blog. This blog has moved to http://www.burburchan.com
      Please update your RSS feeds and bookmarks! You can either follow by email or click the wordpress FOLLOW button at the bottom right corner!

  2. That is some tasty white poop.

Leave a Reply

