Hello, Mom

A month after getting married, nothing much has changed. Except that I still refer to Bryan as “my boyfriend”. the week after I’m back from my honeymoon, whenever I refer to him as “my boyfriend” i get corrected by others. It seems like everyone is more sure of his status than I am.

what is stranger still is referring to his mother as “mom”. the first time his mother spoke to me about how excited she is that one day I will finally call her “mom” was a few weeks before the wedding. I freaked out and wailed to my friend, “but I already have a mother! I don’t need another one!” The day i returned from honeymoon and went to “my boyfriend’s” place, I entered the house as usual to see her seated before the TV engrossed in her Korean soaps. I usually greet her hello Auntie, but this time round I hesitated. Only when she turned around and noticed me did I say “Hello” followed by the longest pause in the world. She raised an eyebrow and asked, “what do you call me?” and I replied while cringing inside, “Mom”.

I think I’ll never get used to it. A friend suggested addressing her formally as “Hello Mother-in-law” which I thought was hilarious but i don’t think she’d find it remotely funny.

2 comments

  1. You think that’s bad. Wait till you first have a meal with both mothers present. I call both of them “mum” so it gets weird and confusing when trying to address them both in conversation.

  2. Both your moms hang out with each other too right?

Leave a Reply

