Home Cook: This is turning into a weekly affair

I really wonder why people ask “can you cook?” i mean, how hard is it to follow a recipe? at home over dinners, i often ask my dad how he prepares certain dishes and it’s always “a bit of fish sauce” and “a bit of soy sauce” but i googled and “a bit” is not an official unit of measurement in the land of Metric or United States of Imperial. But that still didn’t stop me from looking for recipes where they converted “a bit” into “2 tablespoons” and the world suddenly made sense. And my stir-fried vegetables tasted “a bit” better.

Stir Fried Xiao Bai Cai
Xiao Bai Cai
Tao Pok (in bite-sized squares)
3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
Cooking Oil
Fish Sauce (about 1 tablespoon)
Water

Wash the vegetables thoroughly and cut the ends off. Soak them for a couple of minutes before drip drying them.
Fry garlic in hot oil till golden brown. Throw in vegetables and stir fry until vegetables are wilted. Stir-fry in Tao Pok and then cover with a lid, letting it simmer for 4-5 minutes. Add “a bit” of fish sauce and some water (quarter cup?). Stir fry for a minute before serving it. HOW EASY WAS THAT?

Honey Soy Grilled Salmon

wrap Salmon Filet (with skin) in aluminum foil.

drizzle
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon ginger, finely chopped.

on top of salmon and wrap. marinate.

I had bought salmon because i was craving for Chirashi Don and thought of making it myself. However I wasn’t sure if the salmon was sushi-grade (safe to be consumed raw) and I didn’t want to take the risk, because FOOD POISONING IS NOT FUN, so I found this recipe instead.

I was supposed to bake the salmon in the oven but that meant I had to marinate the fish for 40 minutes in foil and preheat the oven for 20 minutes. However since this was a last minute change in kitchen tactics, I didn’t have 40 minutes to wait. I also couldn’t find the baking tray to put the fish on and Bryan was so busy playing SWTOR that he CANNOT HELP ME FIND THE TRAY EVEN FOR 1 MINUTE *cue banging of cupboards and furious muttering of breath as I tried to find it myself*

so i decided to just grill it on the frying pan instead. it worked out pretty well except that the heat was turned on a tad too high and the honey burnt somewhat on the pan. but scraping the pan is Bryan’s business. I flipped the fish over and lowered the heat and let it cook for a bit more before serving it. YUMMEH!

I AM TALENTED!

Leave a Reply

