Sticky Date Cupcakes with Butterscotch Icing

Since I’ve no internet connection and 3G tethering is not working for me, I decided to bake cupcakes today. For the past week, my friend who’s baking the wedding cake asked what were my top 3 desserts to get some inspiration for the cake. This was how the conversation went:

Me: Sticky date pudding, red velvet and banana pancakes.
Her: how about I make a mix of cupcakes of those flavours?
Me: sounds good.
Her: what does Bryan like?
Me: Chocolate anything.
Her: Or I can make the wedding cake chocolate and surround it with sticky date, red velvet and banana something treats?
Me: but i don’t like chocolate!
Her: but it’s his wedding too!
Me: But i’m YOUR friend!
Her: Fine fine… I’ll make sticky date and red velvet as the centrepiece and surround it with chocolate eclairs?
Me: that’s better.

That made me think about sticky date cupcakes all weekend.

I’ve built up my pantry to have basic baking ingredients such as flour and sugar. Luckily I have a habit of snacking on dates (the kind you get from Middle East, not the Chinese kind) so I have a ready supply of dates for this craving. Pitting them was rather easy with a butter knife. The recipe called for 200g of pitted dates but I have no weighing machine so I pitted 21 dates coz 21 is a good number

*

Throw the dates in with the water and watch it simmer. The mixture will thicken into a weird mush.

*

Once mushed, throw in the bicarbonate soda. The mixture will froth up as the soda bubbles with the date mixture. Add butter and mix well. Followed by eggs and sugar.

*

this is a picture of flour in case you don’t know what flour looks like. sift and fold in.

*

Place mixture in prepared cupcake cases in a muffin tin. Bake at 180 °C for 15-18 min. I put 20 mins coz i have a perennial fear of half -cooked cupcakes and my oven kinda sucks monkey balls.

*

This is what bubbling butterscotch look like. Butterscotch is 200 times easier to make than caramel. For caramel, you have to stare at the pot while it bubbles for the right moment where it turns brown, and you’d have to quickly take it off the heat before it burns. For butterscotch, because of the butter content it doesn’t burn at all. In fact you’re supposed to leave it bubbling for 5 minutes before it’s cooked. You could shave your legs or hug your cat while waiting.

let the mixture cool to room temperature before mixing it with icing sugar.

*

Tada! sticky date cupcake with butterscotch icing. Despite my wedding diet, I still love to bake. It’s such a relaxing activity for a Sunday afternoon.

**

Recipe (from honeyandsoy blog)

Makes 12 cupcakes

Sticky date cupcakes

1 ¼ cup dates
1 ½ cup self-raising flour
2/3 cup caster sugar
1 cup water
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
60g butter
2 eggs

Butterscotch icing

100g butter
2/3 cup soft brown sugar
1/4 cup golden syrup
1/2 cup cream
5 cups pure icing sugar

Leave a Reply

