School of Life: Our First Fight

My parents and I.

We had our first fight a few weeks ago. The actual participants of the fight were my parents, I was just an innocent bystander. The focus of the fight was this shower shelf my dad installed. Let me start off with how I got dragged into the fight.

My mom sneaked into my room one night and whispered to me: keep the shower door closed.
Me: why?
Mom: just keep it closed, your dad doesn’t like it.

So now I’m befuddled as to why my dad suddenly dislikes having the shower door left open as we’ve done so for the past 15 years.

The next day my mom explains that my dad installed the new shower shelf but he was unhappy about it. so we must now keep the shower door closed so he doesn’t see it and get pissed off. I don’t quite understand the situation but I do as I am told. Life is easier that way.

Later that day, my dad shuts the shower door which I had left open (old habits are hard to break) and tells me to keep the door shut. I asked him why, he said MY MOTHER doesn’t like to see the new shower shelf, so just keep the shower door shut so she doesn’t have to see it.

Wut?

The real story:

My mother is very specific in how things are done, so with the installation of the new shower shelf (where we put our shampoo bottles), she specifically wants it in a very specific corner in the shower area. My dad took it upon himself to install it where he wanted (the opposite corner of my mom’s specific corner). This led to my mom haranguing him about how it’s the wrong corner and how it goes again the very grain of nature. This pissed my dad off because he spent the entire afternoon drilling holes into the wall and installing the damn shower shelf. So my mom went on and on about how the shelf is in the wrong position (that’s my mom for you), making my dad feel as if what he did for the family has gone unappreciated (that’s my dad for you).

So after their argument, my mom decided that my dad is pissed off with the shower shelf to begin with, so since we can’t remove it, we shall keep the shower door closed so dad doesn’t have to see it. my dad decided that since the shower shelf is in the wrong corner and seeing it in the wrong corner every day would annoy my mom, we shall keep the shower door closed so mom doesn’t have to see it.

I just keep the shower door closed so I don’t have to deal with those two.

Leave a Reply

