Take me to Malacca: Eating around Jonker walk

There were a great many other things to eat in Malacca apart from chicken rice balls. one of the things I missed eating the past few times I was in Malacca was Satay Celup. I heard stuff about it but I didn’t get to try it.

Satay Celup is really just steamboat satay, where the steamboat sauce is made up of the peanut sauce commonly found in satay, and the food come already pierced in sticks. you take as many sticks as you want, but be warned that they charge anywhere between 60 cents (or sens in Malaysia) to 80 cents per stick. There’s an assortment of fish cakes, beancurd wrapped whatevers, fishballs, mushrooms, vegetables from the leafy to the lady’s fingers, and even meat like chicken or prawn pieces. at some points it was really mystery meat in mystery sauce.

the table made of aluminium and specially made with a hole in the centre. the staff will carry a pot of satay sauce and fit the pot in the hole such that it sits on a cooker under the table. let the sauce heat up before dumping all manner of meat into your sauce. it was really good, the one we ate, as the sauce was more nutty and spicey than sweet as it is in Singapore. There are a few famous ones around the area but we found one near our hotel along Jalan Ong Kim Wee street. just look out for the light blue coffee shop filled with locals tucking into their satay (opposite some building with a corner florist shop).

and what is a trip to Malacca without Peranakan food, which I love love love so much. we wandered around our hotel looking for good Peranakan food and found 3 restaurants along the same road as our hotel. we skipped the touristy looking one and settled for one that looked like it was a family-run restaurant. When we stepped in, it was like stepping into someone’s house, complete with marble dining table and family altar. Father and son stood up hurriedly as we stepped in and scurried to the back to prepare our favourite dishes.

Fresh looking otah which Bryan said was good but I didn’t like coz it was too fresh for me. I was used to stale otah from back home.

No Peranakan meal is without Ayam Buah Keluah. the seed had a strong nutty flavour and was rather yummy. However the gravy is not thick enough for my liking. but that’s just me.

One of the yummiest chap chye I’ve ever had. didn’t know mixed vegetables can taste so good.

Bakwan Kepeting or Minced meat Crab meatball soup. you can’t see it here as it’s the fishballs that are floating but the meat balls are stuffed with crab meat and cooked into VERY VERY yummy soup. the bowl they served was big enough for 6 and Bryan and I finished it all. i love it!

see how small the meatball is compared to Bryan’s head.

They had a chendol making corner at the front of the shop. I wish I had a chendol making corner in my house. everyone should have one.

Chendol. I asked for one without red beans coz I’m weird. I think we had a total of 10 bowls in 3 days.

5 comments

  1. Recipe Chefs · · Reply

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

    1. me too! thanks for reading! will check out your blog 🙂

  2. There’s a GREAT malacca chendol place in Siglap. Tastes just like the Jonker Street chendol. If you ever want to pretend you’re in Malacca, without the drive…

    1. ANOTHER reason to go to the east! we just had June Eating House today! do share the address and we’ll check it out next time! thanks for the tip.

    2. please share chendol address. pls pls pls.

Leave a Reply

