Happy Things #1

Home Cooked Meals

720b2a58-1.jpg picture by burbur

For the first time in a LONG time, everyone’s home at the same time to have a home cooked dinner together, courtesy of my father. he cooked my new favourite steamed fish (threadfin) 4th time in a row but I’ll never tire of it. Courtesy calls that I shouldn’t finish all the fish on the table but who cares.

Then there was the age old argument as to why my dad and I don’t eat fish cake. I guess many people think fish = fish balls = fish cake but frankly, if you enjoy the finer things in life, you can so tell the difference.

My dad also prepared cold steamed chicken served with fermented bean sauce. Lovely. But given that fish > chicken, I ate most of the fish instead.

6fe5d492.jpg picture by burbur

by the way, although my dad is the chef of the house, my mom has this amazing ability to cook a meal out of nothing, as you can see from the picture above. Dad had finished all the food last Sunday and we had ZERO ingredients. no one wanted to leave the house for food and we were sick of McDelivery. So mom dug around the fridge and found some chicken, eggs, leftover corn from my brother’s BBQ party and organic rice. We, an Asian home, actually ran out of white rice at home. Preposterous.

Leave a Reply

